The ruling family is Maratha Chavans, descendants of Lakhmajirao Yeldojirao Chavan, Patil of Daflepur. He entered the service of King 'Ali Adil Shah of Bijapur, and received a Desmukhi watan of four mahals in 1672. The jagirs of Jath and Karajagi were conferred on his son in 1680. Emperor Aurangzeb confirmed these estates to the family in 1704. The male line failed four times during the state's history. Consequently, the state was either vested in widowed Ranis or ruled by them as regents for a total of seven decades.

Regarded as something of a model ruler, Vijaysinhrao, the last sovereign chief received the hereditary title of Raja in 1936. He formed a very effective partnership with his younger brothers, introducing far reaching educational, health and administrative reforms. The state acceded to the Dominion of India in 1947 and merged with Bombay in 1948. The Raja took up politics and represented his people in both the provincial and national parliaments.


The ruling prince: Meherban Shrimant (personal name) (father's personal name) Raje Sahib Dafle, Raja of Jath.
The consort of the ruling prince: Shrimant Akhand Soubhagyavati (personal name) Raje Sahib Dafle, Rani of Jath.
The sons of the ruling prince: Shrimant Raj Kumar (personal name) Dafle.
The daughters of the ruling prince: Shrimant Akhand Soubhagyavati (personal name) Raje Sahib [Dafle].
Other male relatives of the ruling prince, descended in the male line: Shrimant (personal name) Dafle.
Other female relatives of the ruling prince, descended in the male line: Shrimant Akhand Soubhagyavati (personal name) Sahib [Dafle].

Raja Vijaysinhrao of Jath appears to have instituted three decorations during the period 1947-1948, but no details are available. The image below is of his full-size medal bar as it appears in one of his studio portraits, where he appears in navak uniform, dating from the early 1960's. Thes three decorations appear in positions two, three and four, outlined in blue below.
Copyrightę Christopher Buyers
Gazetteer of the Bombay Presidency. Government of Bombay, Bombay, 1884-1907.
Sorabji Jehangir and F.S. Jehangir Taleyarkhan. Princes and Chiefs of India: A Collection of Biographies, with Portraits of the Indian Princes and Chiefs and Brief Historical Surveys of their Territories. Three Volumes. Waterlow and Sons Limited, London, 1903.
Waman P. Kabadi (ed.). Indian Who's Who 1937-38.Yeshanand & Co., Bombay, 1937.
List of Ruling Princes and Chiefs in Political Relations with the Government of Bombay and their Leading Officials, Nobles and Personages. Government of India Central Publication Branch, Calcutta, 1931.
Parliament of India Fourth Lok Sabha Who's Who 1956 and 1967. Lok Sabha Secretariat, New Delhi, 1956-1967.

Justin Crace.
Sunetra Darekar.
Abhijit Malwade, Mumbai, India.
Father Lawrence Ober, SJ.
Copyrightę Christopher Buyers
Copyrightę Christopher Buyers
I would be grateful to hear from anyone who may have changes, corrections or additions to contribute. If you do, please be kind enough to send me an e-mail using the contact details at: Copyrightę Christopher Buyers
Copyrightę Christopher Buyers

Copyrightę Christopher Buyers, December 2001 - August 2008